SOUND ARTS/COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF THE ARTS has been at the helm of sound innovation for over fifty years with faculty specializing in composition, improvisation, music theory, musicology, installation, sculpture, instrument building, acoustics, music cognition, and software development. Faculty from the Computer Music Center, along with colleagues from Composition,  Visual Arts, and Engineering, led the development of the new interdisciplinary area in Sound Arts that leads to the Master of Fine Arts degree awarded by the School of the Arts.

The TUNNEL is a collaborative environmental sound installation by members of the Columbia University Computer Music Center and Sound Arts community.  Below is the lineup of student artists & professors.

VICTORIA ESTOK has a dual background in sound art and environmental work.

DYLAN KARIO is a musician and developer from Los Angeles who encourages self-reflection.

NOLAN LEM is an artist, engineer, and jazz musician whose work explores vernacular, found rhythms from daily life.

JESS MALCOM is a recent graduate of Barnard College, where she convinced the Theatre department to let her create a sound installation for her thesis project.

RYAN PRATT is a New York City-based composer who is primarily interested in sound and our means of measuring acoustic structures.

DOUGLAS REPETTO is an artist and the director of the Sound Arts MFA program at Columbia University.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s